Categories
EDTC 300 Project

Week 3

I found and started on a full set of videos made by a scholar Dr Abdul Aziz Abdul raheem. They are all 26 minutes long . I watched two of them yet. 

So far he has introduced 13 words which are used 4479 times in the Quran. He started by  teaching surah fatiha which is the first surah of the Quran and taught it word by word . He also added detailed meaning of the ayahs he was teaching. It filled my heart with pleasure as it is the surah very sacredly  used and knowing it well seemed great honor. I also invited my kids to come sit with me and study that beautiful and mesmerizing surah. It speaks about our gratitude to the God of the universe  and asks for help from God. 

 This part went very well  and we got it easily also but the second part of the video consisted of teaching grammar rules. That part hit me hard as it was quite difficult to follow. Besides that I am actually not planning to learn Arabic language but I want to study the Quran, So I think I will listen to the grammar part but will not try very hard to retain this information. 

I loved the explanation in the end where the scholar said that a picture speaks thousand words conveying context, emotions and physical attributes as well .For example,  if he says 1000 words we won’t be able to visualize an Elephant, but if we see a picture then we won’t forget it ever. Same is the case when he is teaching us words with meaning , but written on flash cards  will create flashes on the brain and we  will always be able to bring them back to mind. 

Leave a comment